State Holidays Expanded to Include Juneteenth

Beginning this year, Georgia Tech will add Juneteenth to its list of Institute-wide holidays. Juneteenth National Independence Day, which falls on a Sunday this year, will be observed on Monday, June 20.

During official holidays, classes do not meet and administrative offices are closed. Any events, exams, or meetings scheduled to occur on June 20 will be shifted in keeping with the observance.

The change was enabled earlier this month, when legislation signed by Governor Brian Kemp changed state law, expanding the number of annual paid holidays for state employees from 12 to 13. Last week, the University System of Georgia’s (USG) Board of Regents voted to update its own policy to align with the state code. The state actions follow last year’s establishment by the federal government of a national holiday commemorating the end of slavery in the United States.  

For questions, employees are encouraged to visit Georgia Tech’s policy for Holiday Schedule for Employees or connect with their HR Business Partner or Representative.   

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • Juneteenth Flag