11th Annual Diversity Symposium Program

Morning Sessions            
Georgia Tech Global Learning Center – Room 236
7:30 a.m.
Registration and Breakfast   
8:00 a.m.
Opening Remarks                                                                                                       
Dr. Archie Ervin
Vice President, Institute Diversity
8:10 a.m.
Welcome Remarks                                                                                                       
Dr. Ángel Cabrera
President, Georgia Tech
8:20 a.m.
Recognizing Our Past: Georgia Tech's Racial Diversity Journey
A conversation featuring Georgia Tech's first African American students and first African American graduate
Panel Facilitation: Dr. Jaqueline Royster, Professor and former Dean, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts
Panelists: Ford Greene, Ralph Long Jr., Lawrence Williams, and Ronald Yancey
9:40 a.m.
A discussion with Georgia Tech's first African American faculty member to gain tenure
Panel Facilitation: Dr. Catherine RossRegents’ Professor; Harry West Chair and Professor, School of City & Regional Planning; ADVANCE Professor, College of Design
Panelist: Dr. Dorothy Yancy
10:45 a.m.
11:00 a.m.
Georgia Tech's Campus Climate Today - A Data Presentation
Dr. Keona Lewis, Program Review and Research Manager, Institute Diversity and
Dr. Joe Ludlum, Assistant Director for Academic Effectiveness                                                                
11:20 a.m.
Charting Our Future: A Diverse and Inclusive Campus for All
A conversation featuring current Georgia Tech faculty, staff, students and alumni on diversity and inclusion within the Tech community
Panel Facilitation: Dr. Gregory NoblesProfessor Emeritus of History
David Brown, Electrician III; Chair, Staff Council
Ronald Johnson (MSOR 1985), Professor of the Practice, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Auston Kennedy, undergraduate student, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Dr. Mary Lynn Realff (TE 1987), Associate Professor; Associate Chair, Materials Science and Engineering
Alex Wan (IE 1988), Executive Director, Horizons Atlanta

12:30 p.m.
Diversity Champion Awards Presentation and Reception
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center Ballroom


12:45 p.m.
Faces of Inclusive Excellence Introduction and Video Presentation                         
Dr. Archie Ervin
1:00 p.m.
Diversity Champion Awards Presentation                       
Dr. Keona Lewis
2:00 p.m.
Closing Remarks                                                                                                         
Dr. Archie Ervin